Tuesday, January 25, 2005


palanca awards 2005

For those interested, here are the relevant documents pertaining to this year's competition:

2005 Palanca Awards Contest Rules
2005 Palanca Awards Entry Form
2005 Palanca Awards Authorization Form

Try to finish your manuscripts way before the deadline of April 30th. Best of luck to everyone who's competing.

iligan workshop

My friend Vince Groyon is directing this year's Iligan National Writers Workshop. There's a strong list of panelists, so apply if you can. The press release follows:

The Mindanao Creative Writers Group and the MSU-Iligan Institute of Technology are accept­ing applications from writers to the 12th Iligan National Writers Workshop (INWW) to be held on May 2-5, 2005 in Iligan City.

Panelists this year are Rosario Cruz Lucero, Erlinda Kintanar Alburo, Jaime An Lim, Leoncio P. Deriada, Merlie Alunan, Tim Montes, German V. Gervacio, Steven Patrick Fernandez and this year’s keynote speaker, the fictionist and Director of the De La Salle University’s Bienvenido N. Santos Creative Writing Center, Vicente G. Groyon.

Fifteen (15) slots, five each from Luzon, Visayas and Mindanao are available for writing fellowships to the INWW.

Applicants are required to submit five poems, or, one short story, or, a one-act play in Filipino, English or in Cebuano, Hiligaynon, Kinaray-a, Waray (with translations) along with the applicant's biodata, two 2X2 photos and a certification that his/her work is original. Please submit a hard copy and a 3.5 diskette with the manuscripts encoded in MS Word. Unpublished works are preferred.

Writing fellows will be given free board and lodging and a travel allowance. Applications must be postmarked on or before February 28,2005. No applications or manuscripts will be accepted if sent by fax or e-mail. Applicants are also advised to keep copies of their manuscripts since these will not be returned.

Send all applications to the 12th INWW Director, Christine Godinez-Ortega c/o OVCRE, MSU-IIT, Iligan City. For more information call/email Pat Cruz
tels. (063) 3516131; 221-4050/55 loc. 113;
email: ovcre-mepc(at)sulat(dot)msuiit(dot)edu(dot)ph


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home